WMCFW: Day 4

IMG_20141023_190530 IMG_20141023_190639 IMG_20141023_190752 IMG_20141023_190910 IMG_0032 IMG_0034

5cWearing Zara derbies and chiffon knit, vintage suede skirt and coat.
Images by me

Guys, going to fashion shows everyday after work is hard. I know I know. #firstworldproblems. But something about the insane crowds, the endless product pushing, the photographers, trying to pick a new outfit every morning that’s me but also practical and stylish, etc. It’s enough to make me feel like a very cranky fish out of water.

By day 4, a big part of me was ready to GTFO, preferably to my bed. Boy am I glad I stuck around for what I saw at Maison Matthew Gallagher. Set against a dreamy backdrop of soft pink screen and manicured garden hedges, Gallagher’s SS15 collection was the perfect palate cleanser to cap my hectic week of shows, half of which weren’t even worth writing about (*shots fired*).

The show began as an image of a black rose bloomed on screen. Admittedly, taking inspiration from spring awakenings and “new beginnings” is a little expected for a spring summer collection. But, I’m of the opinion that the inspiration behind a piece of work matters very little—it’s where you go from its starting point that means so much more. Drawing from a palette of grey, cream, and pastels, the overall look of the collection is classic and feminine without being too sugary (although the mint coloured teared dress is definitely high on the glycemic index). The dramatic peach maxi skirt in satin paired with a black T (the 6th photo from the top) recalled one of my favourite runway shows everJil Sander’s SS11 collection under the creative direction of Raf Simons, a.k.a. Fashion God. And there are strong notes of Lanvin in there as well. See: those perfect mint shorts.

Fashion, like music and art and film, is undoubtedly referential. And copycats proliferate in both mass market and high end luxury retail. Derivative as some of these looks might have been, the impeccable craftsmanship and elegant simplicity of the pieces more than convinced me. I especially loved the floor length pink coat (5th photo) that was cut like a graduation gown. The inspiration is apt. Graduation itself is the end of one chapter and the beginning of the next, and Gallagher took this idea and ran with it, applying it to a pristine ivory dress too (top photo).

Click after the jump for a closer, higher quality look (sorry for the phone camera pics guys….) at the collection!

mg2mg1mg3Images via Huffington Post Canada

Leave a Reply

