Working Girl

Untitled-1Wearing J Brand jeans, vintage boots and belt, Zara leather topper and turtleneck from UniqloUntitled-1Images via The CutUntitled-2Stockholm Streetstyle, Jackie from That 70s’ Show, Charlie’s Angels

When you work 8-10 hour days, five days a week, and with an hour commute each way, life can get a little monotonous after a while. You know what helps? Trying out your questionable outfit ideas in the office before you wear them out to something actually important. That’s how I found myself at work in the dead of winter in bell bottoms and a mustard belt. Who am I? Obviously I have no idea.

Based on my past few posts, you can probably tell I’m pretty enamoured with 70s-inspired style these days. I enjoy the change, and 70s dressing, with its shearling coats and protective leathers, is particularly suitable for these dang February days. It’s currently -20 in Toronto with over 20 cm of snow on the ground, so boots and long johns are essential. And, as someone terrified of having a cold neck, I’ve been pretty much living in turtlenecks since November. From a practical standpoint, this ensemble was a perfect ten. I was comfortable. The wide leg jeans were perfect for layering on top of fleece-lined long johns. And I loved the luxury of wearing a knit sweater that’s also very slimming on my figure. Black turtlenecks are absolutely necessary, you guys. Stylistically, I loved how long the bell bottoms made my legs look. Also, I think we’re all a little sick of skinny jeans, no? I still got to wear my favourite colour combo of black and white. Jury’s still out on the mustard belt.

Obviously I’m not new to this way of dressing. These jeans have been in my wardrobe for years. What is novel is the fact that this is the first time in a while that I’ve been excited to wear colour. Sunny days are hard to come by these days so I like adding some colour to my life artificially. I know it’s just a tiny yellow belt, but baby steps ok? I love the rich hues so characteristic of 70s garments—dark maroons, warm browns, deep indigo blues. It is enough to make me feel excited to get dressed in the morning again.

3 thoughts on “Working Girl

Leave a Reply

