Subconscious Obsession: Wide-Leg Jeans

jnco-2 P1017256 (1) jnco-4wideleg-1 jnco-3 fasutine8If you’ve spent the past decade struggling with poor circulation, thigh-rubbin’, and bizarrely patterned seam imprints on your legs, fear no more. It would appear that the tide is turning and fashionable women are no longer clinging on to their skinny jeans with a fervour so manic, you’d think they actually enjoyed wearing them or something. Since the rise in popularity of off-kilter womenswear labels like Marques’Almeida, Eckhaus Latta, and Faustine Steinmetz, as well as the proliferation of slouchy shapes in recent collections from The Row, Christopher LemaireCéline, and Stella McCartney, fashion industry insiders (and Rihanna) are getting photographed with increasing regularity outside of fashion shows in comfy wide leg jeans frayed to perfection.

I must admit we hopped on the bandwagon early on as well.

What is immediately appealing about this JNCO-revival is the comfort factor. While fashionably-inclined women are accustomed to a certain level of discomfort for style’s sake, I am of the school of thought that I should still feel good when I’m in my clothes or else I probably won’t wear them. Of course, skinny jean manufacturers helped by producing them in stretchy spandex blends. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited to wear jeans so loose there’s a draft when I’m walking. Also of interest to me: how long a well-cut pair of wide leg jeans can make your legs look.

Images via Eckhaus Latta, Rachey Comey, Marques’Almeida, Sunnei, Fuyuri’s Diary, Faustine Steinmetz, and Fake Tokyo

2 thoughts on “Subconscious Obsession: Wide-Leg Jeans

Leave a Reply

