Summer Babe

vanidad vanidad1 vanidad2 vanidad3Model: Julia
Styling: Christina Van Zon
Photography: Lara Alegre
Appeared in: Vanidad magazine

There’s a reason why I named today’s post “Summer Babe”, besides the fact that this editorial was obviously shot in the middle June with a model who is clearly a babe. No, guys, my brain is much more complex than that, and I was actually thinking of this.

Few things are more evocative of summer for me than roadside diners, tinted shades, and Pavement. As a child of the 90s, I also have a tendency to correlate my rosiest summertime memories with the decade of alternative rock. Never mind the fact that I wasn’t old enough to smoke or even go on roadtrips during the 90s, never mind the fact that I didn’t get into Pavement until 2002. Nostalgia and *feelings* work in mysterious ways, babes, and I ain’t gonna fight it.

Vanidad is a fashion mag based in Barcelona. You probably wouldn’t have guessed that, judging by the major Americana, Drew Barrymore in Boys on the Side vibes from this editorial. In many ways, Europeans do American style even better than Americans. They’re able to take the best parts of it and filter them through distinctly European sensibilities. Best of both worlds, if you ask me.

2 thoughts on “Summer Babe

Leave a Reply

