Go Big or Go Home

amber-valletta-amilna-estevc3a3o-andreja-pejic-aya-jones-ediecampbell-estella-boersma-fei-fei-sun-julia-bergshoeff-liya-kebede-mica-arganaraz-stella-tennant-by-craig-mcdean-for-t90d44c23a9c236a1cce39d2992fb42f40 saskia-diez-disc-earringr3WcpFzara-earring JesPPF 2f1df583bc8bd31036de664acca945c5Celine-earringqRw8PZ 20151001_pfwss16_6504_jpg_5467_north_1160x_white

Most people don’t know this about me: I have one split earlobe. As a young’un starting out in university, I harboured an unhealthy obsession with big, colourful ear baubles. So fervent was my devotion, I didn’t even notice when my left earlobe eventually gave out from years of daily wear. After that I vowed to only wear teeny tiny studs….that is, until now.

But of course the oversized earrings that have caught my attention lately aren’t anything like the tacky pieces I wore nearly a decade ago. Being older and wiser and with better taste, nowadays I prefer bold, minimal pieces in solid gold or silver. Céline is perhaps the most well-known dealer of these notice-me accessories. Lucky for us more modestly-salaried individuals, you can buy really beautiful knock-offs from, where else, Zara. They’re the tear-dropped beauties 5th from the top, and although these are much too heavy and ostentatious for daily wear, they’re ideal for the occasional holiday party. You see? I did learn an important lesson from this after all.

Images via Zara, Vogue.com, Céline, and Pinterest

Leave a Reply

